YLC Welcomes Three New Members to National Executive | Young Liberals of Canada

YLC Welcomes Three New Members to National Executive

The Young Liberals of Canada are excited to announce the appointment of three new members to our National Executive! We are very proud to welcome the following accomplished Young Liberals to our board:

Domenic Bitondo as our new Executive Director-Finance

Domenic first became involved in politics in high school volunteering for his local EDA and has been hooked ever since.  A native of Toronto and long-time Young Liberal, he served in many roles in campus & riding clubs and for the past three years on the executive of the Ontario Young Liberals. Most recently, he was the OYL’s Treasurer. Domenic has worked on many campaigns, from leaderships to by-elections.

During the 2015 election, Domenic supported local teams and staff as a member of LPC’s Campaign Technologies team. He’s also interned for the Hon. Bardish Chagger and the Hon. Deb Matthews as well as in caucus offices and for other provincial legislators. Domenic studied at Western University, where he was appointed to the Board of Directors of the student government. He’s since graduated with a degree in Astrophysics and Philosophy and is currently pursuing further studies in Financial Mathematics at Ryerson University.



Ninu Forrest as our inaugural Vice President-English

Believing passionately in organizing and the value of local engagement, Ninu Forrest hails from Victoria, British Columbia and has contributed to the YLC and Liberal Party at several levels in her home province. She has been heavily involved throughout her time the University of Victoria, served as an EDA liaison, Director of External Relations, and most recently as President of the uVic Young Liberals of Canada. For the past year, she’s also served as Women’s Commission Representative on the executive of the YLC-British Columbia.

In March 2017, Ninu represented Saanich-Gulf Islands at Equal Voice’s Daughters of the Vote summit in Ottawa. During the summer of 2016, she volunteered in the constituency offices of the Hon. Harjit Sajjan in Vancouver South and Joyce Murray in Vancouver Quadra, and in the summer of 2017 interned for Minister Sajjan in Ottawa. Ninu is currently completing her BA at uVic, majoring in Political Science with a minor in European Studies. She’s eager to use her role to grow the YLC’s presence in unheld ridings and rural regions and among younger demographics.




Ryan Steeves as our inaugural Executive Director-Membership

Ryan Steeves is a born and bred Newfoundlander, who most recently served as the inaugural President of the YLC-Newfoundland & Labrador. Since first getting involved in Liberal politics in 2011, he’s assisted in more than a dozen political campaigns, worked as a constituency assistant for both provincial and federal Liberal members and was a Field Organizer with LPC-Newfoundland & Labrador (and helped elect Churence Rogers to Parliament last week!) 

Ryan has extensive experience engaging new Young Liberals, including as President of the Memorial University Young Liberals, where he oversaw the fastest growing YL club in Atlantic Canada. He’s also particularly proud of his work as VP of the NL Young Liberals – where he ensured every one of his province’s youth had their 2016 convention costs fully funded – and as Vice President of his province’s Youth Parliament, where he worked increase the participation of rural Newfoundlanders. He is currently pursuing a BA in Political Science at  Memorial University. Ryan is excited about the opportunity to be a strong voice for both Newfoundland & Labrador and all of rural Canada on the YLC, and looks forward to using this new role engage new members from Pouch Cove to Vancouver!

With a wealth of experience and talent that (literally!) spans the breadth of our country, we’re excited to have these three distinguished Young Liberals on our team. Should you like to get in contact with them (or with any of our executives) simply click on their name on our “National Executive” page. We can’t wait to see what these three will accomplish!